National Institute of Technology (NIT) Srinagar

Formerly known as Regional Engineering College, Srinagar, the National Institute of Technology, Srinagar (NITSRI),  is a public engineering and research institution and one of the 31 National Institutes of Technology (NITs) directly under the control of the Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD). It was established in 1960 and upgraded as the National Institute of Technology in 2003  and was declared as an Institute of National Importance in 2007.

The Institute is situated at the the banks of world-famous Dal Lake, with the far-famed Hazratbal Shrine on other side of the campus. Besides running the B.Tech Programmes the Institute also offers M.Tech programme in many streams. In addition to that a large number of students are also registered for MSc, M.Phil and Ph.D Programmes etc.

Objectives of NIT Srinagar

  • To achieve excellence in imparting technical education.
  • To work for solution of problems relating to regional development (pollution control, energy requirements, rural housing etc.). .
  • To spread computer education. .
  • To promote the culture of small entrepreneurship. .
  • To strengthen the continuing education for industry/field personnel. .
  • To establish centre of excellence in specific areas of emerging technologies. .
  • To expand administrative, academic and laboratory infrastructure.

NITSRI Departments

  • Chemical Engineering
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Civil Engineering
  • Computer Science & Engg
  • Electrical Engineering
  • E&C Engineering
  • Metallurgical Engineering
  • Information technology
  • Mathematics
  • Physics
  • Chemistry
  • Humanities
  • Training & Placements

NITSRI Centres

  • Central Research Facility
  • Computer Services Centre
  • Water Resources Centre
  • Central Research Facility
  • IET
  • iDream
  • ASHRAE Student Branch

NITSRI Programmes

The NIT Srinagar offers following programmes:

Undergraduate Programmes

  • B.Tech Chemical Engineering
  • B.Tech Civil Engineering
  • B.Tech Computer Science & Engineering
  • B.Tech Electrical Engineering
  • B.Tech Electronics & Communication Engineering
  • B.Tech Information Technology
  • B.Tech Mechanical Engineering
  • B.Tech Metallurgical & Materials Engineering

Postgraduate Programmes

  • M.Tech Communication & Information Technology
  • M.Tech Electrical Power and Energy Systems
  • M.Tech Geotech Engineering
  • M.Tech Industrial Tribology and Maintenance Management
  • M.Tech Mechanical System Design
  • M.Tech Structural Engineering
  • M.Tech Transportation Engineering & Planning
  • M.Tech Water Resources Engineering

M.Phil Programmes

  • M.Phil Physics
  • M.Phil Chemistry
  • M.Phil Mathematics
  • M.Phil Social Science & Management

Research Programmes

  • Ph.D All branches of Engineering
  • Ph.D Physics
  • Ph.D Chemistry
  • Ph.D Mathematics
  • Ph.D Social Science & Management
Contact Details

NIT Srinagar
Hazrabal, Srinagar
Jammu and Kashmir
Pin Code: 190006

Connect me with the Top Colleges